## Sandy Harbor Association, Inc. Board of Directors Property Owners Meeting May 23, 2015

The Property Owners meeting began approximately 10:30 a.m. on May 23, 2015. Board members attending the meeting were: Keith Woody, Soc Gonzalez, Linda Yarbrough, Karla Melde, Alta Killgore, Perry Farley, Linda Crosby and George Moers. Micah Ditmore, John Robson and Ed Duckworth were absent. There were 35 property owners attending the meeting, including Board members.

Keith Woody opened the meeting and led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag. He thanked Micah Ditmore for his service, as well as Alta Killgore for her 17 years of service on the Board of Directors.

Karla read the minutes from the February 21, 2015 meeting. The minutes were accepted as read with one change to the reference of a review of the financial records maintained by the Treasurer. The change was to clarify that the review was not a formal audit, it was an informal review conducted by Sandy Harbor property owners.

Linda Yarbrough read the treasurer's report which included expenses through March 2015 and budget projections for 2015/2016. There was discussion of added expenses such as extra mowing due to rain and legal expenses and other costs related to the Amendment Procedure vote. Karla made the motion to accept the minutes as read, Linda Crosby 2<sup>nd</sup>. The report was accepted as read.

There was discussion about fire ant control at parks and the fire hall. George Moers has been treating for fire ants at Park A.

On a weekly basis, two of our home owners volunteer their time to improve our community. Soc Gonzales removes the trash container from Park A so IESI will pick it up at his home. This is a great benefit for the property owners enjoying Park A. Franklin Yarbrough picks up recyclable items from homeowners every Friday morning and takes them to the recycle bin located near the burn pile. Thanks to both Soc and Franklin for their community service.

There was discussion about the latest draft of the Amendment Procedures. A property owner questioned the change in the number of property owners required to submit a proposed change to Restrictions from three (3) to Ten (10). The POA lawyer had suggested the change. There was discussion about 10 being too many. As a compromise, a property owner suggested that since there are 175-200 total property owners, if you can't get at least seven (7) property owners to agree that the proposed change is needed, it will be unlikely to pass if sent out for vote. A decision was made to change the number of property owners needed to propose a change to seven. The Board voted unanimously to change the number to seven. NOTE: After the May 23 meeting, a property owner asked that the language in the Amendment Procedure be clarified. After meeting with the POA lawyer, the language has been changed to read as follows:

"Any seven different owners of seven different lots to which these Restrictions apply (referred to as Sponsors) may request an amendment of the Restrictions."

There was discussion about who is eligible to vote. The definition of vote in the draft Amendment Procedure was determined by the majority of those attending POA meetings and by those commenting by other methods such as email. If a husband and wife own one lot, then the couple gets one vote. If a husband and wife own two lots, then each gets one vote. Per Texas law, both names do not need to appear on the deed due to communal property.

The election of new Board members was discussed. Six terms expired in May, 2015 and two (Alta Killgore and Micah Ditmore) chose not to be on the ballot for another two year term. Mary Ann Ayers and Judy Hindelang asked to be considered as new members. No other names were added from the floor. Alta Killgore made a motion to accept the new Board Members, Perry Farley 2<sup>nd</sup>. Those beginning a new two year term are: Mary Ann Ayers, Linda Crosby, Ed Duckworth, Soc Gonzalez, Judy Hindelang, and Linda Yarbrough.

The Board Members met in Executive Session to elect officers for the year. Keith Woody agreed to serve as president. Linda Crosby agreed to serve as Vice President, and as Architectural Committee Chair, Linda Yarbrough is Treasurer and Karla Melde is Secretary.

The next quarterly meeting of the Sandy Harbor Association Inc. will be held July 11, 2015 at 10:00 a.m.

The meeting was adjourned at about 11:45 a.m. All attending property owners enjoyed lunch together after the meeting.

Karla Melde, Secretary

Keith Woody, Vice President